My Final Peer Review

Remy’s Project

The first project I decided to follow this semester was Remy Patison’s Concept by Design. I think Remy’s project has come very far over the last few weeks as she has continued to develop and expand her project.

So what is Remy’s project? Remy has chosen to create templates for things such as presentations, for other students or clients to use to help enhance their projects if they simply do not have the time or skills to create a presentation. I think the concept here is fantastic. I find a lot of students simply do not have the time or capacity to think creatively and come up with high quality presentations. As a result of the concept, I think the utility is great. As I can see from Remy’s Twitter updates, she has come quite far in terms of utility and methodology. In the beginning of her project it seemed as if Remy would just be designing and creating templates. However, from her updates, I can see that she is really working closely with her clients to create templates and projects to suit their needs. For example, in Remy’s most recent tweets she has been working with her local pilates studio and helping Lisa (the owner) to set up her own online presence. This involves the presentation of her social media platforms such as Instagram. It is clear that Remy has spent a lot of time working with Lisa to make sure that the work she is presenting is to her clients satisfaction. For example, Remy has created a ‘mock-up’ Instagram feed. By doing this, Remy has been able to make sure her templates are suited to the client’s wants and needs. I believe that by closely working with her clients, Remy has allowed her project to excel.  

The similarities in the market have shifted from what I believed Remy’s project was in my previous blog post. Now that I know Remy is working alongside her clients to create templates suited to them this changes the market, I believe that Remy’s project fits more appropriately with a marketing agency as opposed to websites like Canva or Creative Market. 

Richard’s Project

The second Project I have been following this semester is Richard Lui’s ‘All things Tennis’. I thoroughly enjoyed the concept for this project, a Youtube channel where Richard would be discussing all things related to tennis. 

I still believe that Richard is using his passion for this project. I think it is always a good idea to use something you’re passionate about to enhance a project. Richard’s project, however, is not what I expected. I was expecting a series of Youtube videos based around all things tennis, for example, how to hold a tennis racket or a review of the US open. Upon viewing Richard’s Youtube page, I was greeted with 7 youtube shorts. Each of the short videos was maybe a 20 second update of the US open or Richard’s opinions. While I like the idea of using Youtube shorts, I feel like this project had a lot of potential for the tennis community. I am not sure how to address the utility of this project, as there were little to no project updates on Twitter, so it is hard for me to address both the methodology and utility of the project. The only tweet Richard posted during the time since our pitch to now was a retweet of Roger Federer’s tweet

I have little to no understanding of how Richards’ project went in terms of progress and connection with the audience. 

I believe Richard’s project could have been expanded if he had used both shorts and videos. An example of this could have been an explanation video of all things US Open, how the points system works, who is attending and information about them. This could have been accompanied by the shorts videos that he has created. I strongly believe this would have enhanced the utility of this project. 

Overall, I still think the concept for ‘All things Tennis’ is strong, however, I think this project has a lot of unseen and unused potential. With the few videos and tweets that Richard has produced it is difficult to compare similarities to other projects in the same genre.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started